Everything You Need to Know About Vegetarian Sausage Casing

If you are in the sausage-making business, or if you just like to experiment with different vegetarian recipes, you might wonder if a vegetarian sausage casing is available.

Most sausage casings are vegetarian, but not all are. 

Some casings are made from animal intestines, while others are made from vegetable sources such as soy, or corn. 

However, vegetable casings can be quite expensive, so it is often best to purchase non-vegetarian casings if a vegetarian option is not available.

Not only can you find vegetarian sausage, but you can also find vegan sausage.

These sausages are made from plants and other non- animal-derived ingredients, and they are much healthier than natural and artificial sausages.

In this article, I will tell you everything you need to know about vegetarian sausages.

What they are made from, how you can store them, and how they are best used for your sausage recipes will be covered by us.

How Can You Get Perfect Vegetarian Sausage Casings?

The most important part of making the sausages is getting the right casing. You can also call this sausage skin, but most people call it sausage casing.

There are three main types of sausage casings available. They are vegetarian, Natural, and Artificial.

Artificial and Natural Sausage Casings

Sausages are made from the skin or the guts of animals. The majority of sausages are made from hog, sheep, cattle, goat, and horse casings.

The exception to the rule is plastic sausage casings, which can be made from a variety of materials.

Natural casings range from 2 meters to14 meters or 6.6 feet to 45.9 feet. Beef casings are usually 104.9 feet long or 32 meters long.

Artificial casings are even much longer. You can get these collagen casings up to 164 feet long or 50 meters long.

Artificial and Natural Sausage Casings

Vegetarian Sausage Casings

The newest type of sausage skin is vegetarian, and they are 100% plant-based. Water, vegetable glycerin, starches, and sugar are some of the ingredients used to make them.

Not only can you find vegetarian sausage, but you can find vegan-friendly sausage as well.

Sausages made from vegetarian ingredients are also suitable for both kosher and halal applications.

Both types of food are very delicious.

Since vegetarian sausages aren’t made from animal ingredients, they can be quite long, usually ranging from 12 to 50 meters, and how many sausages can you make using a sausage casing of 39.3 feet?

120 sausages are the number of sausages you can make. You can make up to 500 sausages if you purchase a 164-foot vegetarian sausage case.

Sausages in vegetarian shapes come in 23 and 32 millimeters in diameter. If you are a beginning sausage maker, it may be a good idea to start with the 23- millimeter casings.

If you want to make your vegetarian sausages, you can either purchase them or make them yourself.

Since they are relatively new to the sausage-production world, finding them in your local butcher shop might be difficult.

You can find vegetarian sausage casings online if you are having trouble buying them in your area.

They are usually ready to be used when you order pre-made vegetarian sausage casings. Natural sausage casings have to be soaked in brine and then washed with cold water.

It might be difficult to find vegetarian sausage in a supermarket, but there are plenty of ready-made vegetarian sausages available.

You can find vegetarian sausages in local grocery stores and supermarkets, and more and more sausage-production companies seem to be making vegetarian sausages.

Vegetarian Sausage Casings

What Are Vegetarian Sausage Casings Made Up Of?

Sausages made from 100% plant-based ingredients are called vegetarian sausages. They don’t contain genetically modified organisms and are also friendly to humans.

Water-soluble polysaccharide is one of the ingredients used to make vegetarian sausages. This ingredient is similar to cellulose, a type of carbohydrate.

How to store vegetarian sausage casings properly?

You might be wondering if vegetarian sausages can go bad, based on their unique ingredients compared to natural or artificial sausages.

The answer is yes, that’s right. If they are not stored correctly, they can go bad very quickly.

If you have leftover vegetarian sausage casings, you must know how to keep them in the right place.

It is necessary to store vegetarian sausage in a cool, dry area. If you keep them in a dry sealed container or another type of vacuum-sealed package, they can last up to one year.

Sausages can be frozen, but it is not a good idea to freeze sausage casings. The quality of the casings can be affected by the low temperature.

How Can I Use Vegetarian Sausage Casing

You can use vegetarian sausage with fish, nuts, and fruit if you choose. Make sure you don’t soak the casings or expose them to a lot of water while cooking.

When it is time to stuff them with filling, this is especially important. There are a lot of vegetarian sausage recipes that you can use with the sausages.

You will need a sausage stuffer to make any type of sausage. There is no limit to what you can think of when it comes to your vegetarian sausage recipe.

What are the Alternatives to Vegetarian Sausage Casing?

There are other alternatives you can try if you can’t find vegetarian sausages. Sausages can be made with either plastic or cellulose sausage casings.

Sausages are made by processing cotton linters and wood. A synthetic fiber commonly used in the food industry is the result of the final result.

Most of the time, these casings are used with wieners, frankfurters, and other similar kinds of sausages.

Sausage shells can also be made from plastic. The most common materials used in the creation of plastic sausage casings are polyethylene, polyamide, and polypropylene.

Sausages made out of plastic should never be eaten and should be removed before being served.

Sausages can be used for smoking You should keep in mind that sausages can shrink if they are cooked in plastic. This happens because the sausages keep the moisture inside.

If you don’t want to use any casings you can also go with the caseless option.

Some types of sausage do not have to be cooked, while others are easy to fall apart without the wrapping.

If you want to make sausages without skin, you should roll them by hand rather than stuff them.

Frying sausages in a pan are the most efficient way to make them. Sausage molds like these are oven and microwave safe, so they are pretty handy.

Is There a Vegan Sausage Casing?

In the last few years, vegan sausage has become quite popular and can be bought online. It is typically made from vegetables and can be eaten.

Most vegan casings on the market don’t contain any of the ingredients that can cause allergic reactions for vegans on strict diets.

Sausages made from vegan ingredients are usually made from water, glycerin, and carrageenan.

It can be used in vegetarian and vegan recipes that are becoming more prominent. It feels like you are eating authentic sausages with high-quality texture.

Once you cook your vegan sausages, you don’t need to remove the vegan sausage casing.

There are plenty of health concerns associated with natural and artificial sausages, but vegetarian and vegan sausages are a much better option.

The ready-to-use vegan sausages are similar to vegetarian sausages. Since they are also water-soluble, no soaking, boiling, or rinsing is required before cooking them.

They can be used in recipes that call for sausages to be grilled or baked. You can use vegetarian and vegan sausages on a stick or rod, which makes them easier to use.

They can sometimes be sold rolled up. If you receive the rolled-up variety, you will have to untangle them yourself.

There are many ways in which vegan sausage can be cooked. Make sure you use low to medium heat if you are going to cook or fry them.

The casings will burst if there isn’t a better way to do it. It is possible to prepare them in an air fryer if it is at 350.

If you want to make vegan sausages, you can use a combination of beans, oats, and nuts. There are many different ways you can make filling for your vegan sausages.

You can use the caseless vegan sausages method if you can’t find vegan sausage casings. You can use plain parchment paper and tin foil instead of sausage shells.

This method can be used for boiling and steaming sausages.

You can fry your vegan sausages without having to worry about them falling apart if you remove the tin foil and paper wrapping after that.


Vegetarian sausages are a much healthier alternative to natural and artificial sausages.

As it becomes more and more popular, you will be able to find it in larger supermarkets and online shops.

It is fairly easy to cook with vegetarian and vegan sausage, and you can even make your own.

They can be cooked, smoked, and boiled. There are many non-meat filling recipes that you can try.

Similar Posts